Reviews

Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

I finally feel like I’m catching up! This book, y’all! It was so good. Too good. And while I found it very, very different from the Court of Thorns and Roses series, I still loved it. It was dark and twisted, full of bloodshed and gore. I’m a fan. As always, you may or may not find some spoiler-y bits down below, so read the book! My review will start after the book description, so read the description and then go buy the book!

16034235

 

In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass–and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world. 

When we first meet Celaena Sardothien, she is a slave in the salt mines of Endovier. Commonly known as “Adarlan’s Assassin,” Celaena has elevated herself to be the most prolific assassin’s in the world. When the King’s son, Prince Dorian, shows up with his Captain of the Guarrd, Chaol Westfall, Celaena knows she’s either in huge trouble or she’ll be living a life far greater than anything previously imagined.

As we follow Celaena on her journey, we see a haunted young woman. Putting on a front to hide the full scale of how physically and mentally ruined she is, Celaena competes to be the King’s private assassin, and falls in and out of love on the way.

I absolutely adored this book. Maas’ writing on this series feels Tolkien-esque, but with a strong female lead. I really relate to Celaena, even though she’s a very isolating character. I absolutely loved Dorian, I think he’s hilarious. I already dislike Chaol. I know that lots of people love him, but at this point he’s already giving me Tamlin vibes and I want him to stay away from her. There’s also definitely something wrong with the King of Adarlan (as if it wasn’t blatantly obvious).

Part of the reason I think I liked Celaena so much is because she’s isolated. She doesn’t trust anybody, and puts on a facade of cold and uncaring. She obviously needs people, but she sees them as a means to an end. Do I think that Dorian or Chaol is the one for her? No. I feel like Maas has a bigger plan for Celaena (which makes me very happy). Yay for female driven narratives!

I’m so excited to see where this series goes, as my goal for the month of July is to finish every single book (that’s released) in this series. Did you like Throne of Glass? Let me know in the comments below!

Rating: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

